County Council Branding

Municipal Districts

Councillors Elected May 2014

Municipal District Councillors elected 23 May 2014




Municipal Areas Map Legend

View larger map

Local Electoral Area/Municipal District

Electoral Divisions included in Local Electoral Area/Municipal District

Number of Seats


Ardcath, Ardmulchan, Donaghmore, Kentstown, Kilbrew,

Rathfeigh, Skreen, Stamullin, Tara.





An Ráth Mhór, Ardagh, Baile Atha Buí, Ballinlough, Balrathboyne, Boherboy, Burry, Carrickleck, Castlekeeran, Castletown, Ceannas Mór Rural (part), Ceanannas Mór Urban, Crossakeel, Crosskeys, Cruicetown, Domhnach Phádraig, Drumcondra, Girley, Grennanstown, Killallon, Killeagh, Kilmainham, Kilskeer, Knocklough, Loughan, Maperath, Martry, Moybolgue, Moylagh, Moynalty, Newcastle, Newtown, Nobber, Oldcastle, Posseckstown, Rathkenny, Staholmog, Stonefield,Tailtin and Trohanny.







Duleek, Grangeeth, Julianstown, Killary, Mellifont, Painestown, Slane, St Mary’s (part) and Stackallan.




 Ardbraccan, Bective, Navan Rural and Navan Urban.



Culmullin, Dunboyne, Dunshaughlin, Killeen, Kilmessan, Kilmore,

Ratoath, Rodanstown.




Ardnamullan, Ballyboggan, Ballyconnell, Castlejordan, Castlerickard, Cill Bhríde, cloghbrack, Clonmacduff, Gallow, Galtrim, Hill of Down, Innfield, Kilcooly, Kildalkey, Killaconnigan, Killyon, Laracor, Rahinstown, Rathmolyon, Summerhill, Trim Rural and Trim Urban.




Municipal Districts Map 2013 pdf, 994kb


Electoral Divisions

These are the smallest administrative areas for which population statistics are published. There are 3,440 electoral divisions in the State. Electoral divisions are referred to by their established statutory names. In some cases, these names differ from addresses and place names currently used.

Local Electoral Areas or Electoral areas

Under local government legislation, the Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government is responsible for dividing each county and city into electoral areas (also referred to as local electoral areas) for the purposes of local elections. Generally, a number of electoral divisions are grouped to form an electoral area.

Putting People First – Action Programme for Effective Local Government

Launched on October 16th 2012 the Action Programme outlines Government policy for the reform and development of the local government system in Ireland.

Municipal District

The Action Programme provides that municipal districts will form a new tier of local governance at sub-county level. Each county council is to comprise a number of municipal districts. Councillors will be elected simultaneously in local electoral areas to both a municipal district and county council. In the vast majority of cases the municipal district is to be based on the local electoral area. The review of the Committee recommends that, in line with the Action Programme, in some specified instances a municipal district would comprise more than one local electoral area.