County Council Branding

Protected Structures

A protected structure is a structure or part of a structure that a planning authority considers to be of special interest from an architectural, historical, archaeological, artistic, cultural, scientific, social or technical point of view. Details of protected structures are entered by the authority in its Record of Protected Structures list (see link below), which is part of the County Development Plan. The Towns Protected Structures are listed below and the locations of each structure is mapped on the Conservation Map of each Town Development Plan of Navan, Trim and Kells.

Record of Protected Structures Grid Map pdf, 6,430kb

Record of Protected Structures List for the County pdf, 1,303kb

Record of Protected Structures list for Navan Town pdf, 1,225kb

Record of Protected Structures list for Trim Town pdf, 724kb

Record of Protected Structures list for Kells Town pdf, 2,147kb


To request a Record of Protected Structures Map (Listed Building map). Open grid map, zoom into the area you require and note the sheet number. Then email a request for a RPS map sheet No. XX to

Protected Structures - A Guide to Architectural Heritage pdf, 27kb

Struchtúir Chosanta pdf, 549kb

Form - Additions to Record of Protected Structures List doc, 26kb

Section 57 Declaration Requests

The Planning & Development Act 2000 provides that any works which would affect the character of a protected structure, or a proposed protected structure will require planning permission, even where those works would normally be exempt under Section 4 (1)(h) of the 2000 - 2012 Acts.

As an owner or occupier of a protected structure you are entitled under the above act to request the Council to issue a declaration as to the type of works which may or may not be permitted in your structure. In order to issue this declaration you should fill out the form below and return to the planning department:

Request for Section 57 Declaration Form pdf, 15kb

 Website Managed by Meath County Council, County Hall, Navan, Co. Meath, Ireland
 tel: +353 (046) 9097000, fax: +353 (046) 9097001, email:
 Council Emergency Telephone Contact Outside Office Hours: 1890 445 335

 Suíomh gréasáin reachtálaithe ag Comhairle Chontae na Mí, Halla an Chontae, An Uaimh, Contae na Mí, Eire
 teileafón: +353 (046) 9097000, facs: +353 (046) 9097001, ríomhphost:
 Comhairle teagmhála teileafóin éigeandála taobh amuigh d'uaire oifige: 1890 445 335

 Privacy Statement | Disclaimer | Copyright | Contact Us | Powered by TERMINALFOUR