Local Community Development Committee

Guidelines for the Establishment & Operation of Local Community Development Committees pdf, 486kb

LCDC logo


  • The Government approved a report “ Putting People First” an action programme for Effective Local Government in October 2012 
  • This set out a range of reforms aimed at improving the delivery of services for the citizen, achieving greater efficiency and enhancing the role of local government in community development. 
  • Local Government Reform Act 2014 was enacted on 27 January 2014 which gives legislative effect to “Putting People First” 
  • Most of the Act commenced from June 1st, 2014 including the establishment of the LCDC.

Visit http://www.environ.ie/community/alignment/alignment-local-government-local-development  for further information.


Local Authority Restructuring

  • Local Government Reform Act 2014 
  • Dissolution of CountyDevelopment Boards 
  • Abolition of Navan, Kells & TrimTown Councils 
  • 6 New Municipal Districts established – Navan, Kells, Trim, Ratoath, Ashbourne, Laytown-Bettystown 
  • Establishment of Local Community Development Committees (LCDC) 
  • Establishment of Local Enterprise Offices (LEO)


Electoral Area Boundaries

6 New Municipal Districts

Municipal Districts Map 2013 pdf, 994kb