



Ratoath Municipal District

Annual Meeting

2.30p.m., 27th June 2024, Dunshaughlin Civic Offices

An Cathaoirleach, Councillor Nick Killian, presided.

Councillors Present: Brian Fitzgerald, Gerry O'Connor, Caroline O'Reilly, Gillian Toole, Fionnan Blake

Councillors Attending via Zoom: Councillor Maria Murphy

Officials in Attendance:

Director of Service: Dara McGowan **Meetings Administrator:** Áine Bird **Assistant Staff Officer:** Stephen Carey

The outgoing Cathaoirleach, Councillor Brian Fitzgerald, opened the meeting by welcoming his colleagues back and welcoming Councillor Fionnan Blake.

1 Election of Cathaoirleach

Councillor Nick Killian was proposed by Councillor Gillian Toole and seconded by Councillor Caroline O'Reilly.

Councillor Gerry O'Connor was proposed by Councillor Maria Murphy and seconded by Councillor Gerry O'Connor.





As there were two nominations for the position of Cathaoirleach, a roll call vote was taken with the following result:

Councillor	Vote
BLAKE, Fionnan	Killian, Nick
FITZGERALD, Brian	Killian, Nick
KILLIAN, Nick	Killian, Nick
MURPHY, Maria	O'Connor, Gerry
O'CONNOR, Gerry	O'Connor, Gerry
O'REILLY, Caroline	Killian, Nick
TOOLE, Gillian	Killian, Nick

RESULT:

KILLIAN, Nick - 5votes

O'CONNOR, Gerry - 2 votes

Councillor Nick Killian was declared elected and assumed the chair.

The Cathaoirleach thanked all the Councillors, and those who proposed him for Cathaoirleach. He noted that the Councillors will continue to work together to represent the Ratoath MD area and the county as a whole, as there is a lot of work to be done. He also welcomed new Councillor, Fionnan Blake to the table.

Dara McGowan Director, thanked the outgoing Cathaoirleach Councillor Brian Fitzgerald, welcomed Councillor Nick Killian to the chair and also welcomed Councillor Fionnan Blake.





2 Election of Leas-Chathaoirleach

Councillor Caroline O'Reilly was proposed by Councillor Brian Fitzgerald and seconded by Councillor Fionnan Blake.

Councillor Gerry O'Connor was proposed by Councillor Maria Murphy and seconded by Councillor Gerry O'Connor.

As there were two nominations for the position of Leas-Chathaoirleach, a roll call vote was taken with the following result:

Councillor	Vote
BLAKE, Fionnan	O'Reilly, Caroline
FITZGERALD, Brian	O'Reilly, Caroline
KILLIAN, Nick	O'Reilly, Caroline
MURPHY, Maria	O'Connor, Gerry
O'CONNOR, Gerry	O'Connor, Gerry
O'REILLY, Caroline	O'Reilly, Caroline
TOOLE, Gillian	O'Reilly, Caroline

RESULT:

O'REILLY, Caroline - 5 votes

O'CONNOR, Gerry - 2 votes

Councillor Caroline O'Reilly was declared elected. Councillor O'Reilly thanked everyone who supported her and said she was looking forward to the role and working with the Cathaoirleach.





3 Appointment of one Councillor to the Corporate Policy Group

Councillor Nick Killian was appointed on the proposal of Councillor Brian Fitzgerald and seconded by Councillor Gillian Toole.

4 To agree the 2024-2025 Schedule of Meetings

Date	Туре	Time
Wednesday, 10 th July 2024	Ordinary	10.00am
Wednesday, 4 th September 2024	Ordinary	10.00am
Wednesday, 9 th October 2024	Ordinary	10.00am
Wednesday, 6 th November 2024	Pre-Budget meeting	9.30am
Wednesday, 6 th November 2024	Ordinary	10.00am
Wednesday, 4 th December 2024	Ordinary	10.00am
Wednesday, 15 th January 2025	Ordinary	10.00am
Wednesday, 5 th February 2025	Ordinary	10.00am
Wednesday, 5 th March 2025	Ordinary	10.00am
Wednesday, 9 th April 2025	Ordinary	10.00am
Wednesday, 14 th May 2025	Ordinary	10.00am
Wednesday 11 th June 2025	Annual	10.00am
Wednesday 11 th June 2025	Ordinary	10.30am

The meeting dates were declared agreed as presented. **Councillor Gerry O'Connor** offered his apologies for his absence at the upcoming July 10th meeting.





5	Appointment of one Councillor to Kildare Meath Grid upgrade programme.
	Councillor Gillian Toole was appointed on the proposal of Councillor Brian Fitzgerald and seconded by Councillor Fionnan Blake.
6	Appointment of one Councillor to East Meath North Dublin Grid Upgrade Community Forum
	Councillor Maria Murphy was appointed on the proposal of Councillor Gerry O'Connor and seconded by Councillor Gillian Toole.
7	Appointment of one Councillor to the Meath Heritage Forum
	Councillor Gillian Toole was appointed on the proposal of Councillor Brian Fitzgerald and seconded by Councillor Caroline O'Reilly.
8	Appointment of one Councillor to the Local Traveller Accommodation Consultative Committee.
	Councillor Fionnan Blake was appointed on the proposal of Councillor Caroline O'Reilly and seconded by Councillor Brian Fitzgerald.
This Sign	concluded the business of the meeting. ed:
Catl	naoirleach