



## Laytown-Bettystown Municipal District

## Annual Meeting

2.30p.m., 26<sup>th</sup> June 2024, Duleek Civic Offices

An Cathaoirleach, Councillor Paddy Meade, presided.

Councillors Present: Sharon Tolan, Geraldine Keogan, Carol Lennon, Maria White

Councillors attending via Zoom: Wayne Harding, Stephen McKee

**Officials in Attendance:** 

Director of Services: Dara McGowan

Meetings Administrator: Áine Bird

Assistant Staff Officer: Stephen Carey

Apologies: Director of Service Fiona Lawless.

The outgoing Cathaoirleach, Councillor Stephen McKee, welcomed new and re-elected councillors to the meeting.

#### 1 Election of Cathaoirleach

**Councillor Paddy Meade** was proposed by Councillor Sharon Tolan, seconded by Councillor Stephen McKee, and was elected unopposed.

Councillor Meade assumed the chair and thanked those who had proposed, seconded and supported his election to the chair, which he considered a great honour. He welcomed the returning councillors and the two newly elected councillors and said that he was looking forward to working together within the MD.

Dara McGowan, Director and on behalf of Fiona Lawless Director for the MD, congratulated the Cathaoirleach and thanked the outgoing Cathaoirleach. He welcomed the new members and the re-elected members and looked forward to working with them over the term.





#### 2 Election of Leas-Chathaoirleach

**Councillor Wayne Harding** was proposed by Councillor Sharon Tolan and seconded by Councillor Stephen McKee and was elected unopposed.

Councillor Harding thanked the councillors for their support. He congratulated the re-elected members and welcomed the two new councillors and paid tribute to the councillors who did not get re-elected this term.

#### 3 To agree the 2024-2025 Schedule of Meetings

| Date                                     | Туре               | Time    |
|--|--------------------|---------|
| Thursday, 11 <sup>th</sup> July 2024     | Ordinary           | 10.00am |
| Thursday, 5 <sup>th</sup> September 2024 | Ordinary           | 10.00am |
| Thursday, 10 <sup>th</sup> October 2024  | Ordinary           | 10.00am |
| Thursday, 7 <sup>th</sup> November 2024  | Pre-Budget meeting | 9.30am  |
| Thursday, 7 <sup>th</sup> November 2024  | Ordinary           | 10.00am |
| Thursday, 5 <sup>th</sup> December 2024  | Ordinary           | 10.00am |
| Thursday, 16 <sup>th</sup> January 2025  | Ordinary           | 10.00am |
| Thursday, 6 <sup>th</sup> February 2025  | Ordinary           | 10.00am |
| Thursday, 6 <sup>th</sup> March 2025     | Ordinary           | 10.00am |
| Thursday, 10 <sup>th</sup> April 2025    | Ordinary           | 10.00am |
| Thursday, 15 <sup>th</sup> May 2025      | Ordinary           | 10.00am |
| Thursday 12 <sup>th</sup> June 2025      | Annual             | 10.00am |
| Thursday 12 <sup>th</sup> June 2025      | Ordinary           | 10.30am |





The schedule was agreed on the proposal of **Councillor Geraldine Keogan** and seconded by **Councillor Sharon Tolan.** 

#### 4 Appointment of two Councillors to Indaver Community Liaison Committee

**Councillor Maria White** was proposed by Councillor Sharon Tolan and seconded by Councillor Paddy Meade.

**Councillor Stephen McKee** was proposed by Councillor Wayne Harding and seconded by Councillor Paddy Meade.

5 Appointment of one Councillor to the Meath Heritage Forum

**Councillor Paddy Meade** was proposed by Councillor Sharon Tolan and seconded by Councillor Stephen McKee.

# 6 Appointment of one Councillor to the Local Traveller Accommodation Consultative Committee.

**Councillor Carol Lennon** was proposed by Councillor Carol Lennon and seconded by Councillor Geraldine Keogan.

**Councillor Maria White** was proposed by Councillor Maria White and seconded by Councillor Sharon Tolan.

As there were two nominations for one appointment, a roll call vote was taken with the following result:

| Councillor        | Vote          |
|-------------------|---------------|
| HARDING, Wayne    | White, Maria  |
| KEOGAN, Geraldine | Lennon, Carol |
| LENNON, Carol     | Lennon, Carol |
| MCKEE, Stephen    | White, Maria  |
| MEADE, Paddy      | White, Maria  |
| TOLAN, Sharon     | White, Maria  |
| WHITE, Maria      | White, Maria  |





### **RESULT:**

LENNON, Carol- 2 votes WHITE, Maria- 5 votes Councillor Maria White was declared appointed.

Councillor Sharon Tolan offered her congratulations to the newly elected councillors, to Councillor Paddy Meade on his election as Cathaoirleach, and thanked the outgoing Cathaoirleach. She also thanked the Meath County Council Executive.

Councillor Carol Lennon wished her fellow councillors well over their 5 years working together.

Councillor Stephen McKee congratulated the newly elected councillors. He also congratulated Councillor Paddy Meade on his election as Cathaoirleach and gave his regards to Councillor Meade's family who were present in the room.

Councillor Wayne Harding wished Councillor Sharon Tolan good luck in her ole as Cathaoirleach of Meath County Council.

This concluded the business of the meeting.

Signed:

Cathaoirleach