



# Ashbourne Municipal District Annual Meeting

# 2.30p.m., 25th June 2024, Ashbourne Civic Offices

An Cathaoirleach, Councillor Alan Tobin, presided.

Councillors Present: Suzanne Jamal, Amanda Smith, Helen Meyer, Conor Tormey

Apologies/Absent: None

Councillors Present via Zoom: Councillor Joe Bonner

Officials in Attendance:

Director of Service: Barry Lynch

Meetings Administrator: Áine Bird

Assistant Staff Officer: Stephen Carey

The outgoing Cathaoirleach, Councillor Conor Tormey, welcomed all councillors back following the election and confirmed how he was looking forward to working together over the coming five years.

#### 1 Election of Cathaoirleach

Councillor Joe Bonner was proposed by Councillor Joe Bonner and seconded by Councillor Helen Meyer.

Councillor Alan Tobin was proposed by Councillor Suzanne Jamal and seconded by Councillor Amanda Smith.

As there were two nominations for the position of Cathaoirleach, a roll call vote was taken with the following result:



Councillor	Vote
BONNER, Joe	Bonner, Joe
JAMAL, Suzanne	Tobin, Alan
MEYER, Helen	Bonner, Joe
SMITH, Amanda	Tobin, Alan
TOBIN, Alan	Tobin, Alan
TORMEY, Conor	Tobin, Alan

#### **RESULT:**

TOBIN, Alan - 4 votes

BONNER, Joe - 2 votes

**Councillor Alan Tobin** was declared elected and assumed the chair. The Cathaoirleach thanked those who had supported him. He said that he was looking forward to working together over the next five years. He asked that the community guards in Ashbourne be invited to a meeting. He also advised that the dates are being finalised for the upcoming twinning trip to Corcubion, Spain.

#### 2 Election of Leas-Cathaoirleach

Councillor Amanda Smith was proposed by Councillor Conor Tormey and seconded by Councillor Alan Tobin

Councillor Helen Meyer was proposed by Councillor Helen Meyer and seconded by Councillor Joe Bonner

As there were two nominations for the position of Leas Cathaoirleach, a roll call vote was taken with the following result:





Councillor	Vote
BONNER, Joseph	Meyer, Helen
JAMAL, Suzanne	Smith, Amanda
MEYER, Helen	Meyer, Helen
SMITH, Amanda	Smith, Amanda
TOBIN, Alan	Smith, Amanda
TORMEY, Conor	Smith, Amanda

#### **RESULT:**

SMITH, Amanda - 4 votes

MEYER, Helen - 2 votes

Councillor Amanda Smith was declared elected.

# 3 Appointment of one Councillor from Ashbourne Municipal District to Corporate Policy Group (CPG).

Councillor Helen Meyer was proposed by Councillor Joe Bonner and seconded by Councillor Conor Tormey

Councillor Alan Tobin was proposed by Councillor Amanda Smith and seconded by Councillor Alan Tobin

As there were two nominations for the appointment, a roll call vote was taken with the following result:



Councillor	Vote
BONNER, Joe	Meyer, Helen
JAMAL, Suzanne	Tobin, Alan
MEYER, Helen	Meyer, Helen
SMITH, Amanda	Tobin, Alan
TOBIN, Alan	Tobin, Alan
TORMEY, Conor	Abstain

### **RESULT:**

MEYER, Helen - 2 votes

TOBIN, Alan - 3 votes

Abstentions - 1

Councillor Alan Tobin was appointed.





### 4 To agree the 2024-2025 Schedule of Meetings

Meetings will commence at 10.00 a.m. on the following dates:

Date	Туре
Tuesday, 9th July 2024	Ordinary
Tuesday, 3 <sup>rd</sup> September 2024	Ordinary
Tuesday, 8th October 2024	Ordinary
Tuesday, 5 <sup>th</sup> November 2024	Pre- Budget meeting
Tuesday, 5th November 2024	Ordinary
Tuesday, 3 <sup>rd</sup> December 2024	Ordinary
Tuesday, 14th January 2025	Ordinary
Tuesday, 4th February 2025	Ordinary
Tuesday, 4th March 2025	Ordinary
Tuesday, 8 <sup>th</sup> April 2025	Ordinary
Tuesday, 13th May 2025	Ordinary

The meeting dates were agreed by all the members.

# 5 Appointment of three Councillors from Ashbourne Municipal District to Knockharley Community Liaison Committee.

The following nominations were received:

Councillor Suzanne Jamal was proposed by Councillor Conor Tormey and seconded by Councillor Alan Tobin

Councillor Alan Tobin was proposed by Councillor Amanda Smith and seconded by Councillor Conor Tormey

Councillor Helen Meyer was proposed by Councillor Helen Meyer and seconded by Councillor Joe Bonner



Councillor Amanda Smith was proposed by Councillor Alan Tobin and seconded by Councillor Conor Tormey

As there were 4 nominations for the appointment, a vote was taken for each nominee.

For the appointment of **Councillor Suzanne Jamal**:

Councillor	Vote
BONNER, Joe	Against
JAMAL, Suzanne	For
MEYER, Helen	Against
SMITH, Amanda	For
TOBIN, Alan	For
TORMEY, Conor	For

#### **RESULT:**

For - 4 votes Against - 2 votes

For the appointment of **Councillor Alan Tobin**:

Councillor	Vote
BONNER, Joe	Against
JAMAL, Suzanne	For
MEYER, Helen	Against
SMITH, Amanda	For
TOBIN, Alan	For
TORMEY, Conor	For

#### **RESULT:**

For - 4 votes Against - 2 votes



# For the appointment of **Councillor Helen Meyer**:

Councillor	Vote
BONNER, Joe	For
JAMAL, Suzanne	Against
MEYER, Helen	For
SMITH, Amanda	Against
TOBIN, Alan	Against
TORMEY, Conor	Against

#### **RESULT:**

For - 2 votes Against - 4 votes

## For the appointment of Councillor Amanda Smith:

Councillor	Vote
BONNER, Joe	Against
JAMAL, Suzanne	For
MEYER, Helen	Against
SMITH, Amanda	For
TOBIN, Alan	For
TORMEY, Conor	For

# **RESULT:**

For - 4 votes Against - 2 votes

**Councillor Suzanna Jamal, Councillor Alan Tobin** and **Councillor Amanda Smith** were appointed.





### 6 Appointment of one councillor to East Meath North Dublin Grid Upgrade Community Forum

Councillor Amanda Smith was proposed by Councillor Conor Tormey and seconded by Councillor Alan Tobin

Councillor Helen Meyer was proposed by Councillor Joe Bonner and seconded by Councillor Helen Meyer

As there were two nominations for the appointment, a roll call vote was taken with the following result:

Councillor	Vote
BONNER, Joe	Meyer, Helen
JAMAL, Suzanne	Smith, Amanda
MEYER, Helen	Helen Meyer
SMITH, Amanda	Smith, Amanda
TOBIN, Alan	Smith, Amanda
TORMEY, Conor	Smith, Amanda

#### **RESULT:**

MEYER, Helen - 2 votes

SMITH, Amanda - 4 votes

Councillor Amanda Smith was appointed.

### 7 Appointment of one Councillor from Ashbourne Municipal District to Meath Heritage Forum.

Councillor Helen Meyer was proposed by Councillor Joe Bonner and seconded by Councillor Helen Meyer





Councillor Alan Tobin was proposed by Councillor Suzanne Jamal and seconded by Councillor Amanda Smith.

As there were two nominations for the appointment, a roll call vote was taken with the following result:

Councillor	Vote
BONNER, Joe	Meyer, Helen
JAMAL, Suzanne	Tobin, Alan
MEYER, Helen	Helen Meyer
SMITH, Amanda	Tobin, Alan
TOBIN, Alan	Tobin, Alan
TORMEY, Conor	Tobin, Alan

### **RESULT:**

MEYER, Helen - 2 votes

TOBIN, Alan - 4 votes

Councillor Alan Tobin was appointed.

8 Appointment of one Councillor from Ashbourne Municipal District to the Local Traveller Accommodation Consultative Committee.

Councillor Amanda Smith was proposed by Councillor Conor Tormey and seconded by Councillor Alan Tobin. As there were no other nominations **Councillor Amanda Smith was appointed.**