Nobber (Irish: An Obair) is a village in north County Meath. It is the birthplace of the blind harpist Turlough O'Carolan in 1670 and a monument in the town is a true testament to the popularity of this musican.
The name Nobber is thought to derive from Irish language terms. "An Obair" is the Irish form and means "The Work". Recently several "high crosses" were discovered in the villages old cemetery (St. Johns) dating from possibly the 10th century. These are much smaller and less ornate than typical celtic high crosses. This find is significant because it suggests that a hitherto unrecorded monastic settlement once existed on the site of the village. Moynagh Lake west of the village is the site of a crannog which dates to Neolithic times. In the Medieval period Nobber was part of the Barony of Morgallion.
The village is built near a river called the Dee .It is on the Navan - Kingscourt road about 12 miles north of Navan. This places the village about 37 miles from the M50 motorway ; the orbital motorway of Dublin. The town of Kells is to the west and the town of Ardee to the east.