County Council Branding

Navan Municipal District Planning Publications


The Settlement Hierarchy in the Navan Municipal District is as follows:

Type of Settlement

County Meath Settlement Hierarchy Centres

Large GrowthTown I



Navan Development Plan

Navan Town & Environs been formerly a Town Council has a Development Plan in place covering the period 2009 – 2015. The Navan Development Plan, as varied, is available here.

Clonmagadden Strategic Development Zone (SDZ)

The Minister for the Environment decided to designate the Clonmagadden Valley, Navan, as a residential SDZ under Part IX of the Planning & Development Act 2000. The Government Order came into force on 1st July, 2001. The development agency specified in the Order is Meath County Council. An Bord Pleanála approved a Planning Scheme for the Clonmagadden SDZ in May 2004. A copy of the Clonmagadden SDZ Planning Scheme is located here. The Planning Scheme is deemed to form part of the Navan Development Plan 2009-2015.

Non Statutory Plans

Framework Plans & Master Plans

Within the content of the Navan Development Plan, there are a number of large land banks where either a Framework Plan or Master Plan is required to be prepared to guide their future development. Two Framework Plans (contained in Appendix V of Navan Development Plan as varied) have already been prepared for:

Framework Plan 2 - lands in the area of Athlumney/Farganstown (2014)

Framework Plan 3 - lands between the Trim Road and Commons Road (2014)

In addition, there are two existing Action Area Plans in place.

Master Plan 1 - lands bounded by the N51, the R147 (former N3), Flower Hill and Windtown Road. (2008)

Master Plan 2 - lands north of the R147 (former N3) between Balmoral Industrial Estate and BlackwaterBridge. (2008)