County Council Branding


The River Boyne and River Blackwater site is a candidate Special Area of Conservation (SAC). The following species are a selection of the many found there, as mentioned in the site synopsis by the National Parks and Wildlife Service (NPWS).

  • Common Reed (Phragmites australis)
  • Great Fen Sedge or Saw Sedge (Cladium mariscus)
  • Black bog-rush (Schoenus nigricans)
  • Bogbean (Menyanthes trifoliata)
  • Bog mosses (Sphagnum spp.)
  • Narrow-leaved Marsh Orchid (Dactylorhiza traunsteineri)
  • Fen Bedstraw (Galium uliginosum)
  • Cowbane (Cicuta virosa)
  • Frogbit (Hydrocharis morsus-ranae)
  • Aquatic Stoneworts (Chara spp.)
  • Osier (S. viminalis)
  • Crack Willow (S. fragilis)
  • White Willow (S. alba)
  • Birch (Betula pubescens)
  • Meadowsweet (Filipendula ulmaria)
  • Angelica (Angelica sylvestris)
  • Yellow Flag (Iris pseudacorus)
  • Fen Bedstraw (Galium uliginosum)
  • Strawberry Clover (Trifolium fragiferum)
  • Enchanter’s Nightshade (Circaea lutetiana)
  • Atlantic Salmon (Salmo salar)
  • River Lamprey (Lampetra fluviatilis)
  • Otter (Lutra lutra)
  • Pine Marten
  • Badger
  • Irish Hare
  • Common Frog
  • Stoat
  • Red Squirrel

All of the animals mentioned are protected under the Wildlife Act.
The full site synopsis can be viewed at

 Website Managed by Meath County Council, County Hall, Navan, Co. Meath, Ireland
 tel: +353 (046) 9097000, fax: +353 (046) 9097001, email:
 Council Emergency Telephone Contact Outside Office Hours: 1890 445 335

 Suíomh gréasáin reachtálaithe ag Comhairle Chontae na Mí, Halla an Chontae, An Uaimh, Contae na Mí, Eire
 teileafón: +353 (046) 9097000, facs: +353 (046) 9097001, ríomhphost:
 Comhairle teagmhála teileafóin éigeandála taobh amuigh d'uaire oifige: 1890 445 335

 Privacy Statement | Disclaimer | Copyright | Contact Us | Powered by TERMINALFOUR