County Council Branding

Waste Electrical/ Electronic Equipment/ Batteries


WEEE and Batteries Retailer Registration

Retailers are required to take back WEEE & Batteries from members of the public free of charge. Take back will be on a one-for-one basis only and the WEEE must be of a similar type or have performed the same function as the new item purchased.

View Frequently Asked Questions about Waste Electrical and Electronic Equipment


Local Authority obligations are:

Each Local Authority must accept household WEEE & Batteries free of charge at its Civic Amenity facilities from members of the public.

Local authorities can no longer charge gate fees for WEEE & Batteries


Retailers’ obligations are:

  • Register with their local authority.
  • Provide free in-store take back of household WEEE & Batteries on a one-for-one basis on the sale of a new like product.
  • Ensure that any WEEE & Batteries collected is delivered to an approved collection facility.
  • Ensure that the storage and transport of WEEE & Batteries collected as above meets the requirements of the Regulations.
  • Ensure that private households are informed of the WEEE & Batteries take back facilities available to them and that they  are encouraged to participate in the separate collections of WEEE & Batteries.    

To register, please complete the form below and send it with a cheque / postal order for €20.00 to:

Environment Section Meath County Council Buvinda House, Dublin Road, Navan, County Meath

Waste Electrical and Electronic Equipment (WEEE) Guide pdf, 194kb

WEEE and Batteries Registration Form doc, 51kb

WEEE and the Retailer doc, 233kb

WEEE Signage doc, 11kb

Waste Batteries and the Retailer doc, 239kb

Battery Signage doc, 11kb

Battery and WEEE Signage doc, 13kb