Navan Municipal District - Pride of Place Awards

Thursday 4th October, 2018

Meath County Council, Buvinda House, Navan, Co Meath

The Navan Municipal District Pride of Place awards were held in the Council Offices, Buvinda House, Dublin Road, Navan on Thursday night, 4th October, 2018.

The evening was emceed by Eilis Sheehy, Senior News Reporter for LMFM.  The Mayor of Navan Municipal District, Cllr. Jim Holloway welcomed all the guests, which included local Councillors and representatives from 57 local groups. Cllr. Holloway praised all in attendance for their hard work and achievements during the year.

Director of Services, Mr Kevin Stewart also welcomed the guests and congratulated the people of Navan Municipal District for their hard work over the last 12 months.  He acknowledged the success Johnstown had in the national Tidy Towns competition where they received an increase of 12 points and an Endeavour Award in the 2018 competition.

The highlight of the night was the award of the Shane Donnelly Inspirational Award which was presented to Navan Meals on Wheels.  Joe McGrath, recently retired President, Liz Gaffney, incoming President and staff members Geraldine Buggy and Rose Mulligan were in attendance to accept the award.  Navan Meals on Wheels will mark 50 years in existence next year and Joe thanked the Mayor and the Council for the nomination and the people of Navan for their support.  He highlighted the valuable work that the charity carry out and noted that it would not be possible without the caring and generous support of the people of Navan.

The following were the winners for the Navan Municipal District:

See photo album of the night at:

Housing Estate Small - 1st Place: Clusker Park, 2nd Place: Reask Drive

Housing Estate Medium - 1st Place: Elmview Close, 2nd Place: Athlumney Hall

Housing Estate Large - 1st Place: Beechmount Estate, 2nd Place: Athlumney Abbey

Best Presented Front Garden - Mary Mahon & Brian Pegnam, Athlumney Hall

Village/ Townland >500 - Dunderry Tidy Towns

Small Town 500 - 2000 - Old Johnstown Village Community Group

Grow Your Own - Abbeylands Crescent Residents Association

Heritage - Simonstown Lane Residents Association

Nature/Wildlife - Abbeylands Crescent Residents Association

Vacant Premises - St Laurence Hotel

Volunteer of the Year - Andrew Healy Moore

Shop Front - Newgrange Hotel

Hospitality/Tourism - Athlumney Manor Guesthouse

Shane Donnelly Inspirational Award - Navan Meals on Wheels