Laytown / Bettystown

Pride of Place — Laytown-Bettystown Municipal District Awards night

Thursday 25th October, 2018

The Conyngham Arms Hotel, Slane, Co Meath


The Laytown-Bettystown Municipal District Pride of Place awards were held in The Conyngham Arms hotel, Slane, Co Meath on Thursday night, 25th October, 2018.

Chairperson of Laytown-Bettystown Municipal District, Cllr. Wayne Harding warmly welcomed the guests, which included local Councillors and representatives from 30 local groups. Cllr. Harding commended those present on the fantastic work and achievements of the voluntary groups, which demonstrates a real pride the people of Laytown-Bettystown Municipal District have in their locality.  

The highlight of the night was the award for 1st place in the Large Housing Estate category to Millmount Abbey, this residents association are new to the Pride of Place competition this year.


The following were the winners for the Laytown-Bettystown Municipal District:

See photo album of  the night  

Housing Estate Small - 1st Place: Crann Daire Brae, 2nd Place: Marian Terrace 

Housing Estate Medium  - 1st Place: Abbey View, 2nd Place: St. Mary’s Villas 

Housing Estate Large - 1st Place: Millmount Abbey, 2nd Place: Sevitt Hall

Best Presented Front Garden - Frances Watters, St. Cianan’s Villas 

Village/ Townland >500 - Broomfield & District Residents Association 

Small Town 500 – 2000 - Slane Tidy Towns 

Large Town > 2000 - Duleek Revival Programme 

Youth Project - Duleek Revival Programme 

Grow Your Own - Broomfield & District Residents Association 

Heritage - Broomfield & District Residents Association 

Nature/Wildlife - Julianstown & District Community Association 

Best New Group - Bettystown Tidy Towns 

Vacant Premises - Julianstown & District Community Association 

Volunteer of the Year - Michelle Lawless 

Shop Front - Neptune Hotel 

Hospitality/Tourism - The Lime Kiln

Winners in the Housing Estate Small, Housing Estate Medium, Housing Estate Large, Village/ Townland >500, Small Town 500 – 2000, Large Town > 2000, Youth Project, Watercourse Amenity, Grow Your Own, Heritage, Nature/Wildlife, Vacant Premises, Tourism/ Hospitality categories and the entries for the Residential Streetscape categories will go forward to represent the Laytown/Bettystown Municipal Districts in the County finals where they will compete with the winners from the other 5 Municipal Districts. The County finals will be held on the 8th November in the Solstice Arts Centre, Navan.

Meath County Council wishes Julianstown & District Community Association who are representing Meath, the very best of luck at the Co-Operation Ireland Pride of Place awards for their entry in the Population - 300 – 1000 category.  Judging took place in early August and the results will be announced at the awards ceremony in Cork City Hall on Saturday 17th November, 2018.