Pride of Place—Ashbourne Municipal District Awards night

Thursday 1st November, 2018

Meath County Council, Ashbourne Civic Offices


The Ashbourne Municipal District Pride of Place awards were held in the Ashbourne Civic Offices on Thursday night, 1st November, 2018 following the launch of the Ashbourne Public Realm Strategy.

Chairperson of Ashbourne Municipal District, Cllr Suzanne Jamal warmly welcomed the guests, which included local Councillors and representatives from 38 local groups. Cllr. Jamal noted that the increase in the number of groups taking part in the Pride of Place competition is a real sign of the commitment the people of Ashbourne have in making their communities a better place to live.   Cllr Jamal congratulated all the groups present on their achievements over the last 12 months which demonstrates a real pride the people of Ashbourne Municipal District have in their locality.

Director of Services Ms Fiona Lawless thanked the groups on behalf of Meath County Council for the work that is carried out by the volunteers the Ashbourne District.  She commended their commitment and noted that the Ashbourne District is a credit to all involved.

The highlight of the night was the award for Volunteer of the Year which was presented to Nicky Ryan of Kentstown Tidy Towns.  Nicky has worked tirelessly for many years in Kentstown Tidy Towns planting, weeding, cutting grass, watering plants and sweeping road margins daily, year round.


The following were the winners for Ashbourne Municipal District:

Youth Project - Ashbourne Tidy Towns 

Housing Estate Small - 1st Place: Churchview, 2nd Place: Beechgrove 

Housing Estate Medium - 1st Place: White Ash Park, 2nd Place: Mountain View 

Housing Estate Large - 1st Place: Garden City & Crestwood, 2nd Place: The Briars 

Best Presented Front Garden - Ellen Kavanagh, Belgree Court 

Village/ Townland >500 - Old Garlow Cross Committee 

Large Town > 2000 - Ashbourne Tidy Towns 

Grow Your Own - Brindley Park Residents Association

Watercourse Amenity - Ashbourne Tidy Towns 

Heritage - Templekiernan Cemetery & Heritage 

Nature/Wildlife - Ashbourne Tidy Towns 

Best New Group - Brindley Park Residents Association 

Vacant Premises - Ashbourne Tidy Towns

Volunteer of the Year - Nicky Ryan 

Shop Front - Melt 

Hospitality/Tourism - Pillo Hotel


Winners in the Housing Estate Small, Housing Estate Medium, Housing Estate Large, Village/ Townland >500, Small Town 500 – 2000, Large Town > 2000, Youth Project, Watercourse Amenity, Grow Your Own, Heritage, Nature/Wildlife, Vacant Premises, Tourism/ Hospitality categories and the entries for the Residential Streetscape categories will go forward to represent the Ashbourne Municipal Districts in the County finals where they will compete with the winners from the other 5 Municipal Districts. The County finals will be held on the 8th November in the Solstice Arts Centre, Navan.

Meath County Council wishes Garden City & Crestwood Residents Association who are representing Meath, the very best of luck at the Co-Operation Ireland Pride of Place awards for their entry in the Housing Estate.  Judging took place in early August and the results will be announced at the awards ceremony in Cork City Hall on Saturday 17th November, 2018.