Business Support Scheme

The Members of Meath County Council have allocated a fund in the Annual Budget for 2017, to encourage and support businesses under the Business Support Scheme 2017.  It should also be noted that 2017 is the 9th year where there has been no increase in the commercial rate for the County.

Below are the bands which determine the level of support available:

Annual Commercial Rates Bill

Support/Credit Available for Customer

paying by Direct Debit

Support/Credit Available for Customer

paying non Direct Debit 

€0 - €500 €50 €50
€501 - €1,000 €100 €90
€1,001 - €1,500 €130 €120
€1,501 - €2,000 €150 €140
€2,001 - €3,000 €190 €180
€3,001 - €4,000 €210 €200
€4,001 and above €235 €225

Conditions of Scheme

  • Applicants must occupy a commercial property within Meath.
  • The Commercial Rates (including arrears) relating to the business must be paid in full on or before 31st July 2017.

If customers pay via Direct Debit, Standing Order, EFT, On-Line or Payment Card, this date will be extended to 13th December2017 however, payments made via these options must have commenced prior to the 5th April, 2017 or have made prior arrangements with Meath County Council.

  •  An increased support is available to businesses that pay by direct debit, see table above.
  • The Business Support Scheme will not apply where a Business may already be availing of a support/incentive scheme already being operated by Meath County Council.
  • This credit cannot exceed 10% of a saving to any business on their annual rates bill.
  • Businesses/Companies that operate using multiple properties within Meath only qualify once for the grant, not multiple times.


Payment of the Grant:

The support measure will be made by applying a credit to the Customers Commercial Rates Account as soon as possible after the above conditions have been fulfilled.


If you have any queries on the Small Business Support Scheme, please email


 Website Managed by Meath County Council, County Hall, Navan, Co. Meath, Ireland
 tel: +353 (046) 9097000, fax: +353 (046) 9097001, email:
 Council Emergency Telephone Contact Outside Office Hours: 1890 445 335

 Suíomh gréasáin reachtálaithe ag Comhairle Chontae na Mí, Halla an Chontae, An Uaimh, Contae na Mí, Eire
 teileafón: +353 (046) 9097000, facs: +353 (046) 9097001, ríomhphost:
 Comhairle teagmhála teileafóin éigeandála taobh amuigh d'uaire oifige: 1890 445 335

 Privacy Statement | Disclaimer | Copyright | Contact Us | Powered by TERMINALFOUR